Skip to content

Fat Acceptance benefits everyone

July 9, 2010

Here’s a great example of why we can’t just sit on our (fat) asses and let the culture define fat as bad:

My roommate is getting married in exactly one week and her sister flew in today in order to help her out and do all the maid of honor things. Both of them are very thin, and said roommate, whom I will call “S”  is absolutely beautiful. However, S tried on a shirt of her sister’s and found it was way too small. Her sister is an absolute sylph.

She proceeded to walk into the living room and whisper to our other roommate “L”: “She is so thin. I used to be that thin.”

L tried to console her, but S was clearly a little bit distraught. “Don’t worry, you have the boobs.” S continued to pout.

Keep in mind, S is VERY thin herself, and absolutely gorgeous.

I see my roommates obsess about cellulite to the point where they acquire pounds and pounds of coffee grounds and sit in a bathtub for 45 minutes looking like idiots in order to get rid of it. I see them workout every day in front of the TV, and then proceed to talk about the jiggle in their thighs. When L gets drunk she complains to me that her ex-boyfriend dumped her because she got fat, but she fails to see the reality that he was simply an asshole.

They don’t starve themselves by any means, but good lord I’m tired of the talk. And I’m WAY tired of the cellulite cream.

The reason everyone needs fat acceptance is because even thin people fear getting fat. The fear, the mere thought of getting fat, is on every woman’s mind, and many men’s minds, attacking at their self esteem, their core.

It’s not only fat people who are affected by the discrimination and the sheer terror in our country produced by the “so-called obesity epidemic.” It’s every single person who has internalized the morals of fat. Which is pretty much every single person.

It just made me sad.

No comments yet

Leave a comment